Wednesday Pennsylvania enacted a new law that places some tough restrictions on teen drivers.
The new law will restrict the number of non-family passengers in a car with a teen driver when no parent is present to one for the first six months after a junior license is granted. At the end of this period, if the driver has not caused any accidents, he or she will be able to have three non-family member passengers in the vehicle.
The bill also increases the amount of driving experience a teen must have under their learner’s permit. Teens now must have 65 hours driving experience, which must include 5 hours bad weather driving and 10 hours night driving before receiving a junior license. The old law only required teens to have 50 hours of driving experience.
The legislation also makes it a primary offense for drivers under the age of 18 not to wear a seat belt. This measure will allow police to pull over underage drivers, and their passengers, who are not properly restrained.
The bill was sponsored by Representative Katharine Watson, R – Bucks, whose goal in promoting it was to lessen the number of teen fatalities.
The new measure passed without debate. All of the five county Philadelphia area representatives voted for the law.
For more on Pennsylvania licenses, see: http://dmv-driverslicenses.org/?&source=CCN-CD312-GDL2-State-PA-J1-penns…